Thursday, October 1, 2020

DAR To Distribute Land Titles To 766 Dinagat Island Farmers

DAR To Distribute Land Titles To 766 Dinagat Island Farmers


EDSA Busway System To Implement Fully Cashless Transactions With Beep Cards

Cashless transactions via Beep card will begin on October 1.

SM Wins At 2019 Asia Sustainability Reporting Awards

The SM Investments Corporation has bagged yet again another award!

7 Commandments To Revitalize The Country Safely

Medical experts recommend strict health protocols for public transportation.

Alibaba Cloud Launches New Digital Ecosystem Strategy In The Philippines

This will help local businesses adapt further to the new normal!

A total of 1,067.5005 hectares of agricultural lands are about to be distributed to farmers from various towns in Dinagat Islands, the Department of Agrarian Reform in Caraga Region (DAR-Caraga) said.

DAR-Caraga Director Leomides R. Villareal told PNA that 766 farmers will receive their Certificates of Land Ownership Award (CLOAs) in a ceremony scheduled on Wednesday (Oct. 9) in San Jose town, Dinagat Islands.

DAR Secretary John Castriciones and other top officials of DAR are expected to attend the distribution of CLOAs, Villareal added.

Data provided by the DAR-Surigao del Norte Provincial Office indicates that the 1,067.5005 hectares of lands to be distributed will cover seven towns in the province, to include Libjo, Dinagat, San Jose, Cagdianao, Basilisa, Tubajon and Loreto.

Of the seven towns, the town of Libjo has the biggest area to be distributed on Wednesday comprising of 604.4122 hectares where 387 farmers will receive their land titles and in the municipality of Tubajon with 249.3078 hectares for 196 farmers.

Villareal said the activity in Dinagat Islands is among the series of land distribution activities that the DAR-Caraga Region spearheaded since the middle of last year.

Among the big land distribution activities that Villareal enumerated include the region-wide land distribution in November last year, the land distribution in Surigao del Sur early this year, and the Mindanao-wide CLOA distribution held in Davao City last month that was attended by President Rodrigo Duterte.

With the issuance of Executive Order 75 in February this year Villareal said DAR-Caraga will focus on distributing government lands that are suitable for agriculture.

The EO 75, signed by President Duterte on February 1, directs all departments, bureaus, offices, and instrumentalities of the government to identify lands owned by the government devoted to or suitable for agriculture for distribution to qualified beneficiaries.

Aside from CLOA distribution, identified Agrarian Reform Beneficiaries Organizations (ARBOs) in Dinagat Islands will also receive farm machinery during the activity.

DAR- Surigao del Norte Provincial Agrarian Reform Officer Maria Elizabeth de Guzman told PNA that the pieces of farm machinery include tractors, turtles locally known as bao-bao, and rice threshers.

As of press time, DAR-Surigao del Norte has not yet provided PNA with the total worth of the farm machinery that will be distributed to ARBOs.

De Guzman said the CLOA distribution on Wednesday is the biggest accomplishment of DAR-Surigao del Norte this year.

The province of Dinagat Islands has a total land area of 175,839.7 hectares of which, 96,745.85 hectares are considered agricultural.

Of the total agricultural lands in the province, 9,047 hectares are now covered under the Comprehensive Agrarian Reform Program, de Guzman said.

Local officials from Dinagat Islands, including Governor Arlene Bag-ao and Rep. Allan I B. Ecleo, are also expected to join the CLOA distribution. (PNA)

Latest News

Smile Train Philippines Celebrates World Smile Day

Make sure to witness the launch of #540Today, which conveys that 540 babies around the world are born with a cleft every day.

NegOcc Harvests First Sugarcane-Rice Intercrop Project

The sugarcane-rice cropping system project of the Negros Occidental provincial government reaps its first harvest in the pilot site located in Barangay Aranda, Hinigaran town.

Internet Hotspots Installed In Ilocos Norte Schools

Community internet hotspots in the towns of Pinili, Paoay, Currimao, and Badoc in the second district of Ilocos Norte are currently being tested to ensure all learners can connect under the new normal education system.

GenSan Extends GCQ Status Until Oct. 15

General Santos City is placed under GCQ until October 15 due to the rise of COVID-19 cases in the province.

Mayor Abby: Makati Rolls Out Learning Continuity Plan For Blended Learning

The Makati city government rolls out its Learning Continuity Plan for the school year 2020-2021, in preparation for the blended learning approach in the city.

Bloom In A Swipe With The New L’Oreal Paris Blooming Kisses Bullet Lipsticks!

Stay captivating with the smokey pink shades of L’Oréal Paris!

realme 7 Series And Buds Q Now Official In PH, Offer An Elevated Experience

Fans will enjoy a wide array of launch promos for the three devices both online and in-stores!

Cebu City Logs Low COVID-19 Positivity Rate

The Emergency Operations Center has seen a downtrend in the COVID-19 positivity rate in Cebu City, with 0.7 percent logged on Tuesday night.